Investigating cosy culture

Welcome to my last ever digital artifact, where I’ll be taking a deeper look into cosy culture. Please check out my Pitch video below to get started.

Project development

This project has already undergone a few rounds of iteration while I narrowed down my framework. Here are the initial brainstorms that have turned into the project I’m showing you today.

I didn’t have a lot of time in my pitch video so I will be reposting a few slides here for extra clarification. I will be using strategic project development techniques throughout this project. In development I utilised reframing and while I will consider it throughout the project I also want to work towards antifragility. I will also be exploring paradigm shifts and the adjacent possible.

Some learning moments from my previous digital artefacts

Creating my persona

In BCM325 last semester I finally realised that I much prefer creating content through a persona or brand disconnected from myself. Since I plan to focus on creating content through streaming and blogging I want to be aware of internet safety and keep my persona for this project completely separate from my uni and personal life. As such I will only be linking to project names or showing them in images.

I’m currently in the process of narrowing down the exact aesthetics for my persona but am taking a lot of inspiration from the Aesthetics Wiki and other content creators. I’m still looking into communities to join but I want to either work towards creating or joining a community like HermitCraft where everyone supports eachother.

Example video

Watching GeminiTay‘s content has always calmed me down after a long day.
while I will be producing different content I want to emulate her style of video and way of talking.
Her overall aesthetics are also cosy adjacent.

The art style of Roesalie‘s PNGTuber is a great example of how minimal animation works well..

artbyzvesta‘s stream layout is a great example of cosy and her art streams have been inspiring.

The lo-fi aesthetic of CrimroseTv is something I want to incorporate into my content .

ascottishbean‘s content is always relaxing and has the right vibes. I also want to draw inspiration from this layout.

While SussyBunny‘s content is a bit more mature than what I’m aiming to create buns art streams have showed me a lot about VTuber culture.

Here are the specific elements of my persona I have already fleshed out including important names, imagery and elements of authenticity. I am planning to develop a PNGTuber persona and utilise voice modding software.

Other key elements of my persona are its social utility and audience. While my audience is currently quite broad I hope to narrow it down as I continue to research my niche and develop this DA. The primary social utility is to provide research into ‘cosy’ as well as to create a safe online space.

Here is the mood board I developed when mixing possible aesthetics with images I feel represent my proposed audience. I’ve also come up with some potential colour palettes based on this imagery.

Further considerations

One of my big issues with DA’s has been content production and a loss of motivation so I’m keeping this project open and have some options for alternative frameworks I can transition into. Every DA comes with its own challenges, however, by utilising antifragility I hope to overcome a lot of these. Here are some specific examples and how I plan to combat them.

I don’t have a fully fleshed-out budget as I aim to have the majority of what I purchase be things I already want or know I would use after the semester. I’ve already bought a new USB connector for my headset and a cosy games bundle totalling around $40. I’m hoping the rest of the budget doesn’t exceed $100-125 and will include things such as subscription services, games and streaming supplies like a Switch capture card.

I also have started on a project timeline. I will be revising it in a few weeks but think it’s a solid start.

Thank you for your time!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started